1. Home
  2. Docs
  3. ADA Accessibility

ADA Accessibility

The Department of Justice (DOJ) created the “ADA Standards for Accessible Design,” in 2010. Website ADA compliance was born from the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), who oversees the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG). The guidelines are broken down into three levels: A, AA, AAA.

The top level, WCAG AAA ,equates to 100% compliance to Section 508 regulations within the United States Workforce Rehabilitation Act of 1973. The DOJ has acknowledged that it is not practical for a website to adhere to AAA because it greatly impacts a website’s performance, design, and presentation.

Following industry standards, Civic Clarity websites are reviewed against WCAG 2.1AA guideline errors and every attempt is made to score zero in the error category. We pay particular attention to:

  • WAVE errors (https://wave.webaim.org/
  • Keyboard navigation
  • Heading order
  • Screen magnification experience
  • Color contrast standards

Civic Clarity adds a ADA Accessibility page to your website with a form for concerned residents to submit any issues they find on the website.


ADA Accessibility Training

During training AccuNet will discuss the need to fill out media alt tags and how to save PDFs in an accessible format.

ADA Reviews as Requested

AccuNet will show your website editors how to scan your website pages for accessibility using WAVE.  We are also available to scan and fix any errors found upon request.


Was this article helpful to you? No Yes

How can we help?